What to do and not to do following a car accident:
If you are physically able, document the scene with photographs;
If you have a smart phone, take pictures of all vehicles, the scene of the collision and anything else you believe is important.
Be courteous to others and first responders;
Although it is always important to cooperate with law enforcement at the scene, your health is our number one concern, and it is important to realize that most folks who are hurt do not always feel the pain right away due to the surge of adrenaline going through their system right after a collision. Try to take photographs of your vehicle and any other vehicles involved, take photos of the scene, and make note of any witnesses who may be present. Avoid making any statements to the other drivers unless absolutely necessary for everyone's safety, and when you file a claim - we do not recommend talking with any insurance adjusters until you have been seen by your health care providers and talked with an injury attorney.
Get checked by a medical provider for injuries as soon as possible;
Although you may not feel pain right away because your adrenaline is flowing and your body is experiencing shock, you may in fact have injuries that are not readily apparent, but as the minutes and hours after a collision progress will become quite painful. If you are feeling anything that is out of the norm for you or someone you are with, take the safe approach and get checked out by a medical professional at the emergency room, or if you choose not to take an ambulance, by a clinic that specializes in accident care and treatment.
We do not recommend giving a statement to any insurance adjuster without first talking with your doctor and then your attorney - Here's why...
Many times, the insurance adjuster will try to talk with someone immediately following a collision. Inevitably, the person will tell the adjuster that they are not hurt, feeling fine and able to walk safely away from the scene of the collision, but wake up the following day feeling like they have been run over by a train. The adrenaline has worn off and they begin to feel the pain and notice the swelling of their soft tissues.
Remember this - In Oklahoma vehicle owners are REQUIRED BY LAW under Title 47 Section 7-103 to carry a “Motor Vehicle Liability Policy” more commonly known as ‘car insurance' on their automobile of not less than $25,000.00 to cover bodily injury when they hurt someone, or $50,000.00 when they hurt two or more persons. The car insurance covers collisions arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use of a vehicle subject to registration under the laws of Oklahoma.
In other words, if you are in a collision, and it is not your fault, the other driver and/or vehicle owner is supposed to have insurance to cover your damages- to make sure you get the help you need to get well and to fix your vehicle. Most of the time your health insurance will work with the health care providers and then the at-fault drivers insurance will subrogate or pay back your health insurance for any amounts paid out due to the accident.
We are here to help coordinate your recovery, from the healing side to the financial side, we want to help you to get better in all areas. From the time you first contact us until the time your case is either settled or we prepare for trial - work with us as your Oklahoma City car accident lawyer.
Contact us today for more information about automobile accident injuries and how we can help you get on with getting better and help you get the financial compensation you deserve. Call now for your FREE CONSULTATION. 405-525-1900.